New Zealand GREEN Grid Household Electricity Demand Study 2014-2018

Anderson, Ben and Eyers, David and Ford, Rebecca and Giraldo Ocampo, Diana and Peniamina, Rana and Stephenson, Janet and Suomalainen, Kiti and Wilcocks, Lara and Jack, Michael (2018). New Zealand GREEN Grid Household Electricity Demand Study 2014-2018. [Data Collection]. Colchester, Essex: UK Data Service. 10.5255/UKDA-SN-853334

This project was carried out by the University of Otago in a joint program led by the University of Canterbury. The project explored future trends in renewable electricity generation and household demand, together with developing in-depth knowledge of electricity networks and power management, to ensure that New Zealanders have access to reliable, safe, and affordable renewable energy.

Data description (abstract)

The NZ GREEN Grid project recruited a sample of 25 households in each of two regions of New Zealand (Stephenson et al. 2017). The first sample was recruited in early 2014 and the second in early 2015. Research data includes: 1 minute mean electricity power (W) data collected for each dwelling circuit using Grid Spy monitors on each power circuit (and the incoming power); dwelling & appliance surveys; occupant time-use diaries (focused on energy use).

Data creators:
Creator NameEmailAffiliationORCID (as URL)
Anderson, Benb.anderson@soton.ac.ukUniversity of Southamptonhttp://orcid.org/0000-0003-2092-4406
Eyers, Daviddavid.eyers@otago.ac.nzUniversity of Otagohttps://orcid.org/0000-0002-7284-8006
Ford, Rebeccarebecca.ford@ouce.ox.ac.ukUniversity of OtagoUnspecified
Giraldo Ocampo, Dianadgiraldo@maths.otago.ac.nzUniversity of OtagoUnspecified
Peniamina, Ranarana.peniamina@otago.ac.nzUniversity of OtagoUnspecified
Stephenson, Janetjanet.stephenson@otago.ac.nzUniversity of Otagohttps://orcid.org/0000-0003-1454-524X
Suomalainen, Kitikiti.suomalainen@otago.ac.nzUniversity of Otagohttps://orcid.org/0000-0001-8855-4929
Wilcocks, Laralara.wilcocks@otago.ac.nzUniversity of OtagoUnspecified
Jack, Michaelmichael.jack@otago.ac.nzUniversity of Otagohttps://orcid.org/0000-0002-2884-3240
Sponsors: New Zealand Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment
Topic classification: Housing and land use
Society and culture
Keywords: new zealand, electrical energy consumption, households
Project title: Renewable Energy and the Smart Grid (NZ GREEN Grid)
Alternative title: NZ GREEN Grid Household Electricity Demand Study
Grant holders: Janet Stephenson, Michael Jack
Project dates:
FromTo
1 October 20121 October 2018
Date published: 04 Sep 2018 12:36
Last modified: 07 Nov 2018 10:04

Available Files

Data

Documentation

Read me

Downloads

data downloads and page views since this item was published

View more statistics

Altmetric

Edit item (login required)

View data collection View data collection